Choosing software

What is the best salon software in the UK?

There is no single best salon software. The right one depends on whether you want new clients from a marketplace app, how big your team is, and what you will pay for over a year. Fresha, Treatwell and Booksy bring marketplace clients for a fee. Timely is the cheapest to start without a marketplace. Phorest and SalonIQ are established UK systems for larger salons. Daviana suits salons that also want colour costing and an AI receptionist on the same record.

·6 min read
Salon tools laid out on a work surface

The short answer

Salon software is the diary, the till and the client record your whole day runs on, so switching is a big decision and a bad fit is expensive. Search for the best salon software and most of the lists you find are written by one of the companies on them. This one is too. We make Daviana. So every fact about another company below comes from its own UK pricing or terms page, checked on 26 September 2026 and listed at the end, and we have said plainly where each one is the better choice.

How do the main UK salon booking systems compare on price?

Prices are as each company publishes them for the UK. Superscripts link to the sources at the end.

Published priceContract and new-client fees
Fresha£14.95 a month on your own; £9.95 a month per bookable team member on Team1No contract. 20% one-time commission on new marketplace clients, minimum £41
TreatwellMonthly fee not stated on its pricing page230 days' notice3. 35% on a new marketplace client's first booking, 0% on repeat bookings, 2.5% on online prepayments, all plus VAT2
Booksy£40 a month plus £5 a month per extra team member, plus VAT4No commitment. New-client fee only with Boost on: 30% of the first visit, minimum £54
TimelyFrom £4, £7 or £9 a week by plan, adjusting with bookings; unlimited team members5No contract, 14 days' notice. No new client fees5
SalonIQFrom £47 a month for a solo stylist; setup from £175 plus VAT6Contract not stated on its pricing page. No marketplace6
PhorestQuote only; no free trial7One year, renewing automatically unless you give two months' notice8. No marketplace
Daviana£80 a month including VAT for the diary and till; first month freeNo minimum term; cancel any month. No marketplace, no commission on bookings

Which salon software suits which salon?

What should nail and beauty salons look for?

Nail and beauty salons need the same core as hair salons, but the diary gets harder faster. Check these on any demo:

What does salon software really cost over a year? A worked example

Take a team of four on Fresha's Team plan: 4 × £9.95 is £39.80 a month for the software. Now say the marketplace sends you 10 new clients a month with a first visit of £60. At 20%, that is £120 a month in commission, so £159.80 a month, or about £1,920 a year, before card fees and paid texts.

These are example figures. Run the same sum with your own numbers for each system on your shortlist: subscription, card processing on your monthly takings, paid texts, any new-client fee, and any setup fee spread over the year. The cheapest headline price is often not the cheapest year.

What should you ask before you switch?

We keep a fuller list in 12 questions to ask before switching salon software.

Questions salon owners ask

What is the cheapest salon software in the UK?

On published prices, Timely starts lowest at £4 a week with unlimited team members, and Fresha is £14.95 a month on your own. Both have extra costs to check: Timely's price rises with bookings, and Fresha charges 20% on each new marketplace client.

Which salon software has no commission?

Timely says it has no new client fees, and SalonIQ, Phorest and Daviana have no marketplace, so there is no commission. Booksy only charges on new clients when Boost is switched on. Fresha and Treatwell charge on new marketplace clients.

Which salon booking systems tie you into a contract?

Phorest's UK terms are a one-year contract that renews automatically unless you give two months' notice. Fresha, Booksy, Timely (14 days' notice), Treatwell (30 days' notice) and Daviana are monthly. SalonIQ does not state its terms on its pricing page.

What is the best booking system for a nail salon in the UK?

The one that books your treatments at the right length with the right technician, and handles two services in one visit. If you want marketplace clients, look at Fresha, Treatwell and Booksy; if you do not, Timely, SalonIQ, Phorest and Daviana. Test your longest and most awkward treatment on a demo before you decide.

Can I move my clients from my current salon software?

Usually yes, but what moves depends on what your current system lets you export. Ask any new supplier to look at a real export before you sign. The Daviana team moves your clients and prices across for you.

Sources

  1. Fresha: UK pricing — checked 2026-09-26
  2. Treatwell: partner pricing — checked 2026-09-26
  3. Treatwell: partner terms (notice period) — checked 2026-09-26
  4. Booksy Biz: UK pricing — checked 2026-09-26
  5. Timely: UK pricing — checked 2026-09-26
  6. SalonIQ: pricing — checked 2026-09-26
  7. Phorest: UK pricing — checked 2026-09-26
  8. Phorest: UK terms and conditions, clause 13.1 — checked 2026-09-26

Fresha, Treatwell, Booksy, Timely, SalonIQ and Phorest are trademarks of their owners. We are not affiliated with any of them. Prices and terms change, so check with each company before deciding.

See Daviana run your diary

Thirty minutes on your own services and your own numbers. If one of the others suits you better, we will say so.

Book a demo
SF
The Daviana teamWritten from the floor of six working salons, London to Saudi — the same team that builds the software and runs the chairs.

Keep reading